ENEOS - Motorsport - Formula Drift Logo 2x

ENEOS continues its participation in Formula DRIFT – a relationship which began in 2017 and continues in 2022 with a new partnership with former and reigning FD Champion, Fredric Aasbo and Papadakis Racing.

The Papadakis team began drifting in 2004 and claims the most wins in Formula DRIFT history. It earned 2015 and 2021 championship titles with Fredric Aasbo, as well as back-­to-­back championships with Tanner Foust in 2007 and 2008.

Team owner Stephan Papadakis is a legend of sport compact racing. He built his reputation in the 1990s with the first front­-wheel ­drive, tube-­chassis drag car in the country. The team earned multiple records and championships in the sport, turning in elapsed times and trap speeds previously thought unattainable in front­-wheel drive drag cars. The FWD success was matched by his efforts in rear­-wheel drive when he campaigned the fifth car to join the NHRA’s Sport Compact 200mph club.


Reigning Formula DRIFT Champion Fredric Aasbo is known for his flat-out style. He has achieved more than 100 podium finishes on three continents over the past decade of competition, and has the most wins of any driver in Formula DRIFT history.

For the 2022 season, Aasbo returns to Formula DRIFT to defend his title in the Rockstar Energy Drink Toyota GR Supra. For the first time, he will be supported by ENEOS, which brings decades of its own motorsports success at the highest levels.

Aasbo made his US debut at a global drifting invitational in 2008 and was later awarded the 2010 Formula DRIFT Rookie of the Year title. He joined Papadakis Racing in 2011 and rapidly rose through the driver rankings around the world, claiming his first FD Championship in 2015 and becoming a fan favorite.

Originally from Ski in Norway, Aasbo splits his time between his native country and Southern California. He campaigns a full international season, with competition stops in the USA, Canada, Europe, and Asia.


  • Most Wins of any Formula DRIFT Driver (16)
  • Two-time Formula DRIFT Champion (2021, 2015)
  • Formula DRIFT World Champion (2015)
  • Five-time Formula DRIFT Championship Runner-Up (2014, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019)
  • Formula DRIFT Asia Champion (2014)
  • Formula DRIFT Fan Favorite of the Year (2012-2014)
  • Formula DRIFT Rookie of the Year (2010)
  • Nordic Drifting Champion (2007, 2008)
  • Stunt driver: Six Underground (Michael Bay, 2019); Børning films (2014, 2016, 2019); Host: Top Gear Norway